Would You Like a New Car for Christmas?

My dad came by my office to tell me a story yesterday. He even teared up and started crying while he was telling it, which is a big deal. My dad’s a lot like me with the whole manly man Viking warrior mystique, and we don’t cry lightly.

Something wonderful happened to my dad’s sister. I won’t say her name because she’d probably be embarassed by it. She’s a very humble person and probably wouldn’t want the attention directed at her. She’s a very kind person and would do anything for anyone that asked. More than once I can recall times she’s given everything to others and asked nothing in return. We were talking about her, and I honestly couldn’t even ever recall a time when she offended someone or made them mad.

Here’s the story, and I’m telling it third-hand, as I haven’t talked to her yet about it, so please forgive me for any inaccuracies.

She works as a nanny/sitter for several families. One of them asked her to take a ride with them somewhere. At first she said no, that she would stay and watch the kids. They urged her to go. They stopped at a car dealership and asked her to get out and look around with them. She said no, that she was fine sitting in the car with the kids. They urged her to get out and look around. They stopped at a row of cars and asked her which one she would pick if she were them. She said no, I wouldn’t know which one would be best for you.

So they said, one of these is yours. You just pick the color.

My aunt walked away from the dealership with a brand new, completely paid for, 2012 Honda Civic. After years and years of second hand cars and auto repair bills, she now has a brand new sedan. Now that I think about it, I don’t even know if she’s ever owned a brand new car. Out of curiosity, I looked up the cost for the car and they run from $15K-$20K.

The family told her that they’d received a good bonus this year at work and wanted to do something for her. Boy, did they! I think that’s awesome! What a Christmas present!

Leave a Reply

