Chilling with Sarah Grooms

Sarah Grooms spoke to our church yesterday. She’s collecting support to be a part-time field intern for Cru (formerly known as Campus Crusade for Christ).

I knew Sarah as an acquaintance years ago at Live Oak Church, where my wife and I were members many moons ago. Back then I only knew her as a teenage attendee and the sister of one of our good friends. In other words, I didn’t really know her at all. She attended regularly and was friends with the Matthews brothers. (Go Matthews bro’s!). I never saw her snoring in church or throwing things at Pastor Thames, and she seemed like a decent kid.

Now, she’s all grown up and a junior at the College of Charleston.

I met with her a week ago after she contacted me about a new ministry endeavor she’s jumping into. What a difference from the young girl I knew! I can see such a huge difference in her. She’s full of energy and passionate about reaching others for Christ. As we sat in the Barnes and Noble cafe she spoke non-stop with gusts up to about 130mph about what she’s doing at the school for Cru. It excited me to see the change that a real relationship with Christ has made in her life.

She spoke to us about her mission at Cru. She basically raises support so that she can work when not in class in a ministry position. This way she doesn’t have to seek outside employment like most students do. She’ll work with the other students, hold Bible studies, and help them find a closer walk with Christ. We decided to support her for a year to give her the chance to get some experience, see what a ministry occupation is all about, and help decide the path that God is leading her down.

Like I said, we’re supporting HER. We’re not supporting an organization or a particular ministry. We’re supporting an individual who’s really excited about working for God. The next time you have the opportunity, think about what you’re supporting. Is it the organization or the people there. I’m all for the individuals, like Sarah Grooms at Cru.

If you’d like to check out what she’s doing here’s a link to her page. I’m sure she’d love to tell you more about it.

2 thoughts on “Chilling with Sarah Grooms

  1. Awe, hate that I missed it! So proud of her. It has been a tough summer, but she has persevered. I am looking forward to seeing what happens this upcoming year.

Leave a Reply

