Whew! Close Call with Hurricane Isaac

I didn’t really have a close call with Hurricane Isaac. I’m in coastal South Carolina, and we’re well out of range. A little rain is all we might see. Potential storms are a constant threat during hurricane season and all eyes stay on the Weather Channel every time one pops up. The habit when we miss a new storm is to breathe a sigh of relief and not think about it anymore.

I can’t breathe so easy anymore. It’s not just my home and family I have to worry about now. I have other friends in the path of Hurricane Isaac.

Jeff Cole of Project James spoke to our church a few weeks ago. He helps an orphanage in Haiti. I sent him a message to check on his kids, the orphanage, and the school. He said all was well.

I also have a really good friend Caitlin Beidler, a painter by trade who makes several trips a year to Haiti to do art projects and help out at another orphanage through a ministry called Making Roots. I checked in with her. She just got back and all is well with her folks too.

It’s not just me I have to be concerned with now. There’s a lot of folks I need to check on with just about any storm. That’s okay though. God has given us all a tremendous opportunity to exercise the care of others. I can be thankful for my safety and use that energy to help others. It’s okay to be happy that you missed danger and even celebrate it, but don’t forget that someone is in the path too.

Leave a Reply

