The Leftovers on HBO (or Seeing the Rapture on TV)

I’m really excited about this new Leftovers series on HBO. It’s an interpretation of the Rapture by a non-Christian, which is pretty cool in its own way. I’m curious to see what he makes out of it.

Leftovers show001

Many Christians will be afraid of this. I’m not. Think about it. The author was intrigued by the story of the Rapture from the Bible and wanted to write about it. Sure, he may not get it theologically right. Sure, HBO may throw in a lot of dramatic elements. But I still don’t see the problem with it.

Don’t we get it theologically wrong sometimes? Don’t we throw a lot of unnecessary dramatic elements into our lives?

Yeah, you do. Yeah, I do too.

My only problem with the show is that I don’t have HBO, so I’m always late to the game watching these shows on dvd’s from Netflix. If some of you end up watching it, let me know how it is.

Leave a Reply

