Just What is Sacred Theology?

I’ve been doing some research for a book I’m writing on Christian colleges, and I keep coming across program of study in Sacred Theology.

What exactly is that?

I mean, theology is the study of God. Can you get any more sacred than that?

I can’t find a big difference in the programs of Sacred Theology vs. the programs of study directed toward just plain old theology. I’m not a big fan of academia in place for the sake of perpetuating useless institutions as a means of separating poor college students from their money.

If you want to go to school for a degree in some aspect of religion, don’t pay as much attention to the title of the degree as you do to God’s leading for a particular school.

Sacred theology? It’s redundant. All theology is sacred.

This message was written by Dr. David Powers. You can always find me at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading! 

Leave a Reply

